GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I build my son a house with 25000 KES, bought a cow and a sheep 21500 KES and paid a school fees of 700 KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of buying an ox plough and furniture.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am happy I have build a house myself and my son who was homeless.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first lumpsum transfer on plastering my house and fixing steel door.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a neat house now.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time almost 7 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my token payment on buying a mattress and cussions for my chairs.I also bought sand I wan to plaster my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lumpsum payment on plastering my house.I also want to build a kitchen and a toilet.
access_time almost 7 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to finish building my house, build a kitchen and buy a few livestock
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I am a farmer so I do get good harvest
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship has been not being able to have a good roof over my head
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part is being with family