GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Kasichana's Profile
Kasichana's family
Subsistence farming
Kenya Large Transfer
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Kasichana's next check-in.
access_time 2 months ago
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
As a mother of 7 children, receiving this cash would be a life-changing opportunity for me and my family. Ever since 1982, when my husband used to practice palm wine tapping, we have always dreamed of having a herd of cattle on our homestead. Despite being surrounded by green grass, we have never had the funds to purchase a cow. With the $270 out of the funds I might receive, I plan to buy 2 cows that I believe will provide us with milk and offspring for the future. Additionally, I intend to use $70 to purchase 2 goats, which I believe will also contribute to our family's well-being. The remaining amount will be used for our domestic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
As a mother of 7, my husband's health posed a significant challenge for our family. What brings me the greatest joy is the relief we now feel as a family. In 2020, my son-in-law generously covered my husband's medical expenses for an operation. The transformation in our lives has been remarkable, as we no longer face the medical challenges that once burdened us. The joy we feel is immeasurable, knowing that my husband's health has significantly improved. His survival is a source of immense happiness for our entire family, and we are incredibly grateful for the positive change in our lives.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
As a mother of seven, my greatest challenge is maintaining my health. I have been dealing with chronic illnesses such as high blood pressure and asthma for over a decade, and these conditions have significantly impacted my ability to work and live my life to the fullest. I am no longer able to take on the casual jobs I used to do, such as charcoal burning and maize pounding, due to my limited physical capacity. The only activity I can still manage is subsistence farming, and even that is only seasonal. My health issues have made it difficult for me to earn a consistent income, and I often have to rely on my children for financial support when I am unable to generate enough funds on my own. Simple tasks like fetching water have also become challenging because I can no longer carry heavy loads or engage in strenuous activities. As a result, I have become more dependent than I ever anticipated, and it weighs heavily on me. Each day, my health presents new obstacles and robs me of the joy I once found in everyday activities.