chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Susan's Profile
Susan's family
Susan
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
63
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Susan's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spent the transfer to plaster my house so l bought 8 bags of cement and sand at 16760 kshs, labor-charge 13000 kshs, paint 850 kshs, l also bought solar of 3500 kshs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because my house was very dusty and l could repair it like every month, but now it is neat and l will not repair it every month.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 800 KES of my token payment on a lamp, 2000 KES on 3 iron sheets, 2000 KES on 3 chickens, 4000 KES on food and I paid 1200 KES school fees for my son.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I want to buy some oxen, a plow and cement the floors and walls of my main house.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 4 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to invest in farming by purchasing two bulls and a ploughing machine so as to increase my produce. I also plan to plaster my house to save time and energy for smearing. I will use the remaining amount on my children's high school education.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I am feeding my family by working hard as a farmer.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is lack of sufficient finances to fee, clothe, educate and meet other basic needs of my family because as a farmer my income is very unpredictable.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when at the market selling my fish and interacting with my customers.