GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Beatrice's Profile
Beatrice's family
Beatrice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
27
homeHousehold Size:
3
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($474 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the third transfer transfer on paying driving course for my husband 20,000KES .I also started a clothes selling business 20,000KES and the rest I deposited on to my personal savings account 8,000KES.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My new goals are to buy a water for easy accessibility to clean water and a cow too.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
The biggest difference in my life is that I have my own business which I can get income from it and support my family financially unlike before I was a housewife who relied on people hence am now independent and empowered financially thanks to GiveDirectly.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying 20 pieces of Iron sheets 13,000 KSH, steel door 8,000 KSH, window frames 5,000 KSH, timber 1,600 KSH, a cow 15,000 KSH, gave my husband 5,000 KSH.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I now have a business that gives me daily income had I not received the help from Givedirectly I would still be relying on handouts.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a sofaset at 8,000 KES then gave 1,500 KES to my husband to buy shoes.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning with my husband to build our own homestead.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I have planned to buy building materials,house furniture and set up a business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The proudest achievement is that I bought a bed which I had wished for,for a very long time.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is that we have no proper income to support ourselves for a long time.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am farming.