GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Sarah's Profile
Sarah's family
Sarah
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
59
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($468 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have a canteen that I have been operating alongside dairy and crop farming. With this business, I have been able to meet the basic needs of my family. I am planning to start selling cereals like beans and potatoes in this shop as a way of diversifying my sources of income. This will attract more customers and in turn, my daily profits will increase.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly does well in uplifting the lowly people in society by giving out unconditional financial aid. Due to this, people now have assets like livestock while others have been able to pay school fees for their children who were constantly home due to huge fee arrears. I do not see anything that they do not do well.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
When I received my second transfer, I spent KES 10000 on farming. I hired a tractor for land preparation purposes and bought enough hybrid seeds for planting. In addition, I bought some chicken at KES 3000 so that I can sometimes be selling eggs and use the money to buy some basic needs for my family. Also, I spent KES 6000 on new clothes for my children and KES 10000 on some foodstuffs and utensils. I still have KES 13000 that I am planning to spend on food and in case of an emergency.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($488 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I was at my garden wedding with my vegetables when I heard a vibration from my phone. Upon checking, it was a message confirming a receipt of promised funds from Give directly. I was so happy and this gave me an assurance of initiating what we had planned.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the added heifer in my livestock. Though I am still incurring costs on buying milk, am hopeful that in a few months it will calf and produce milk hence reduction of the daily cost of milk. I am grateful for the achievements so far and am looking forward to the second transfer to do more.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Upon withdrawal of the first transfer, I spent Kshs, 27,000 in purchasing a heifer which is about to calf. My aim was to cut the daily high cost of buying milk from my neighborhood. I am excited that in a few months my family is going to enjoy surplus milk daily. We also purchased maize seeds and tilled our land at Kshs.3,000 ready for plantation. With the remaining amount, we managed to purchase a small water tank, clothing, and food. With all this, I am so grateful to God and Give directly for the support.
 
Enrolled
access_time 12 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
When i get this money I will buy a dairy cow. I had one cow before but because of financial constraints I sold it to clear hospital bill for my child. I now depend on my son for milk but I feel like being independent since he also has a family to feed. A good dairy cow will cost around KES 20000. Sheep is also good for rearing since they give birth at least thrice a year hence increase faster. Sheep will be a source of income in future when I sell them. I need two of them costing KES 4000 each. The rest of the money will go to personal needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon. This is the time I rest from casual jobs and I have been payed. I am happy knowing I have money for my personal needs like food.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship is financial constraints. I depend mostly on casual jobs for money. Most casual jobs come from smearing people's houses which is also not constant. When i smear one metre of a house I am payed KES 200 which is insufficient to sustain my personal need.