GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Jumaa's Profile
Jumaa's family
Jumaa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Teaching
workCampaign
UBI
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Jumaa's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 month ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Professionally I'm a teacher currently employed in a particular school as a support staff in one of the neighbouring villages. I earn about 15000 KES from which I support my family and also my siblings and parents. To manage all that, I had to start a business on the side operated by my wife offering MPESA services and snacks. It's gotten rough lately though, due to the fact that my brother with whom we used to take turns supporting our parents lost his job. And sadly it happened that around this same time, my younger brother is also diagnosed with a kidney cancer that requires several rounds of chemotherapy before removal operation. My father also runs a kiosk business but it can hardly provide a meal per day. All these family issues have squashed all my money including some of business's. When I get this money, I'll ensure that it restores my business so that I can keep getting more profit and grow my business again while still supporting my extended family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I was extremely happy last month to have managed to resume my classes after I deferred for a whole academic year due to lack of funds. I enrolled for a school based degree program which is somehow flexible and can run alongside work schedules smoothly two years ago. But just after one year I had to defer when I ran out of cash after family issues started and I was the only one to support.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest challenge right now is inadequacy of financial resources. I'm employed and also running a business but the burden of my extended plus own family has grown high than the much I can make from all those sources. I have a brother who's currently hospitalized awaiting an operation and also feeding the rest of the family, not forgetting paying my own school fees for education degree I'm currently taking at 36000 per semester.