GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Jane's Profile
Jane's family
Jane
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Jane's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on buying a mattress 4,700 KES, sofa-set 7,500 KES, uniform and stationary 10,000 KES, paid farm workers 4,000 KES, 3 sacs of maize 7,500 KES, gave my husband 5,000 KES, bought clothes 4,000 KES and bought food with the balance.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a bed, I can sleep and dream like the rich people do and my child can also go to school.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought school uniforms 2000 KES, school fees 3000 KES, one sack of maize 3000 KES and bought a sheep with 2000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy a piece of land and pay school fees for my child.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy basic necessities for my family like food.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked as a casual worker for many years and after diligently saving my earnings for a while I was able to buy a goat.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself, this means that my family often eats one meal in a day.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I have finished all my tasks in the farm. I usually relax and prepare lunch for my family and as they eat we often chat, this really makes me very happy.