GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Lusia's Profile
Lusia's family
Lusia
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
57
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($465 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer paying school fees arrears for my son who had completed high school but did not manage to get his certificate for not clearing the arrears. Now he has his certificate. I also spent some on enrolling my other son for a mechanical training technical course. The remaining I spent on ploughing and planting sorghum which I have since harvested.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used the transfer from give directly to buy iron sheets, chairs, goats, clothes and paying school fees. I bought iron sheets in preparation to construct a new house, doing this will enable me live a comfortable life- one thing that I have been missing since my husband's death. I bought goats as way of less cost investment, I look forward to selling them in a year or two to help me settle school fees.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am able to dress smartly.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on paying school fees with 4000 KES, bought a radio worth 1100 KES, bought maize worth 2600 KES, bought a net worth1000 KES and bought food with the remaining 1300 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming transfer on building a new house and buying a cow
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I'm planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my two children in secondary school and should I be left with any balance, I will use it to build another house since the current one is old and has leaking roofs. .
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I'm proudest of is having been able to educate my children through secondary school and I still have two more in secondary school, one is in form two and the other in form three.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I'm facing currently is on paying school fees for my two children in secondary school.I have no proper source of income other than burning of charcoal for sale.This means I'm always in arrears as far as paying their school fees is concerned,being a widow makes it even more difficult.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when as a norm we sit down as a family after our meal and study the word of God.Seeing the children following and listening gives me joy.