GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Millicent's Profile
Millicent's family
Millicent
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
29
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($481 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on buying a solar since its a reliable means of lighting as compared to the traditional larten I used to use before I recieved the transfer as it was expensive interms of buying paraffin on a daily basis . I also bought a goat , a matress and some household expenditures.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($491 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer to buy two cows the very first I ever owned. I also bought two bags of maize that the family will use for food and a blanket to use during the cold weather.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is owning my first ever cows that give me great pride and joy whenever I take them out to graze.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the first transfer on buying furniture at 2000 KES, bought a mattress worth 2000 KES, 2 sheep at 5000 KES and used the rest of the money on buying 30 tins of maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to spend the upcoming transfer on building a new house because my current house is too squeezed. I'm also planning to buy a cow.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We're planning to spend our transfer on expanding our current house by buying more iron sheets,Secondly we will buy two cows to raise since we don't have any now and lastly we intend to start up a small business of selling fish,this will help in giving us some income to sustain the family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement we're proudest of is having been able to build our current house, we used to live in a very small thatched house which would leak during rainy seasons.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face now is on paying school fees for our children even though they are still in primary school,we depend on weaving ropes using sisal which is not profitable enough and hence not able to cater for our many needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I'm weaving ropes using sisal since by doing this I'm able to get some money in return to help fend for the family.