GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Jackline's Profile
Jackline's family
Jackline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Tailoring
faceAge:
32
homeHousehold Size:
7
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer to pay to pay school fees for my two children in secondary. I paid 30000 KES,I bought fifteen iron sheets that i used to construct a new house. I spent 9450 KES,a mattress worth 4000 KES. I spent the remaining to buy food.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I want to start maize selling business that will help me see my children through school.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My children had dropped out of school and were it not for GD,they could have never been gone back. I am so happy.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent a larger portion of the first lumpsum on constructing a latrine, bought bedding at 4000 KES, iron sheets at 10500 KES, utensils at 3000 KES, used 3000 KES on food and saved 2000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved because I no longer do odd jobs to feed my family because I have already stocked food that will take us for some time.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 7,000KES school fees for my daughter, and spent 3,000KES on cultivating my piece of land.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy ironsheet, timber and nails, and build an iron roofed house. I also plan to sink and construct a pit latrine.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use my transfer to build a bigger house because my house is small, build a separate kitchen, construct a pit latrine to improve the hygiene of my dwelling, and set up a small business that can help me with daily income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that through weaving and selling sisal, I have managed to get money to feed my family
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is that I lack money to educate my children because I lack a good source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up a live and my family is well.