chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Sara's Profile
Sara's family
Sara
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Sara's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
Paid 37,000 KES school fee for my son in high school, shopping for my son for school at 4,900 KES, bought 10 iron sheets at 6,500 KES then used the rest on food for my house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My son's education is no longer interrupted due to school fee because I paid the better part of it.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent the token payment on buying 6 iron sheets at 3,960 KES, then paid a group loan at 3,000 KES and the rest we used to buy household items such as food. We are very grateful for this.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We are planning to buy more iron sheets and other construction materials so as to build a new home for ourselves.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to build a new house in our own compound, buy household items and pay school fees for our children
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is educating my eldest child to standard eight level, I never imagined he could make it that far.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is that this house we live in is so small for my now big family, it's dilapidated.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is cooking for my children. especially in the evening when making dinner.