GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Janet's Profile
Janet's family
Janet
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
52
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($471 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
Since my mother who was the former recipient passed on, I was changed to be the new recipient. Me and my sister are still in university pursuing different courses, but we couldn't afford to sustain our education due to lack of adequate support from guardians and therefore receiving the third transfer was a great support to us. In fact, it enabled us to pay the whole year college fees for both of us.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($484 USD)
access_time 7 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent most of the second transfer to pay university fee for my sister who is in university and the remaining balance l saved it in my bank account as l am awaiting to join university too.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that, l have managed to pay university fee for my sister who is in the university, since this has been a great challenge to me and l am also now sure of joining university too.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the entire amount on paying for my wife's medical expenses.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to open a berber a shop, and restart a second hand clothes selling business that we were running before but ran out of stock.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy sand, cement, timber, round poles, nails, iron roofing sheets and wire mesh which I will use to build a house for my children and also construct a pit latrine. If there are any funds remaining I plan to enroll two of my children in a college.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having been a successful farmer. This has enabled me educate most of my children up to secondary school level.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a sustainable source of income for myself. I have children who should be in college but I am unable to raise the required fees, this means that they may never pursue further education.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up because I can thank the Lord for blessing me and my family.