GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rachael's Profile
Rachael's family
Rachael
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
31
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Rachael's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
I bought a piece of land some four months ago at the village's shopping center, but haven't done anything with it since. This is because I haven't had any overhead to spend on such projects. With this grant, I'll be able to put up a structure that I can build my business around. I plan to do several units so that I can have one for my business and also rent out the rest. I haven't been getting bigger profit margins because of high operational cost due to the fact that I pay house rent. This might take around $1000 but as an investment with good returns guaranteed.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I must say this has been a great season for me, starting from last month I have made good sales most of the days. I told you I do make $10 in two days averagely, but in these two months it's been $10 a day most of the time. Even though I haven't received GD's money yet, I must say this is as a result of it's effect as it has improved my clients' purchasing power. I can't be happier for sure!
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I do not have a reliable source of income. I'm a mother of five living with my husband and my children. Two of them are already attending a local grade school both paying school fees of $50 per academic term. My husband used to be a taxi driver in Malindi town but he stopped a year ago due to low daily income of just $2 he was generating from it. Currently he got a job as a casual labourer with a Chinese company constructing a particular road nearby, a job that he just got two week ago and has not yet earned from it. Personally, I sell palm wine at this village's shopping center. This earns me around $10 in two days. As a family we've been surviving with this, though not enough to pay all our bills.