chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Celline's Profile
Celline's family
Celline
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
subsistence farming
faceAge:
45
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Celline's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($494 USD)
access_time 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought seat cushions , paid school fees and bought food for my family.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has been changed in a lot of ways, I am very happy
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used my token payment to pay secondary school fee (5000), primary school fee (1000), to buy cushions for my chairs (1850) and food (2000)
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy a cow and boost my business.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 2 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We plan to spend the transfer to pay school fees for my child in college. We also plan to spend the transfer to plaster my house. We also plan to spend the transfer to buy a cow.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
Our proudest achievement is that we have been able to build a house for my family. I used to stay in a thatched house but I later worked hard and sold the goats which I owned and bough iron sheets.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in life is that I usually find it hard during ploughing because I don't have my own oxen plough so I have to hire.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am repairing clothes in my tailor shop.