chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Zawadi's Profile
Zawadi's family
Zawadi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different than how it would have been because since I started receiving the money, I managed to construct a very decent spacious house. The initial one was very small and in a bad state some of its walls had cracks and though that, I was always attacked by some rodents. As a result, most of my properties were always damaged, and replacing them was a bit expensive. It is now a huge relief to me because I no longer have to worry about all those insecurity issues and the rains. Also, the bedding that I purchased has made my life smoother in such a way that I do no complain bout back pain like before.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
In my opinion, GiveDirectly does well by giving me a phone and offered me the correct teachings on the security issues concerning money. Previously, I had no idea on how to use a phone neither to withdraw cash but through them, I have gathered a lot. Therefore I do not see any part GD failed us.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent part of my second transfer on buying beddings which include a new bed mattress, and bedsheets. Previously I used to sleep on the traditional beds which I wasn't comfortable with. Also, I bought livestock ie goats that I am now keeping in my homestead. This is what I have been longing to own for years but I could not afford it since they were too expensive. In addition to that, I cleared fees arrears for my children who are both in primary schools. With the reaming amount of money, I bought enough food for the family.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($501 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received a message in my phone early in the morning. Since I could not understand it well, I called my helper who informed me that I had received my first transfer from GiveDirectly. I was greatly overjoyed and thanked them for the financial help.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I am currently living in my new spacious and iron roofed house. The previous house was not spacious and I had to squeeze my household items and my children had to seek shelter elsewhere at night. I am at peace now because my children have their own place to stay. They no longer seek shelter from neighbours.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent a bigger portion of my first transfer on building a new decent and spacious house. I purchased building materials which include building poles,18 pieces of iron sheets and paid for the labour involved. I built the new spacious house to accommodate my children because my current living house is not spacious enough. My children had to seek shelter elsewhere at night. In addition to this, I also spent KES 5000 on clearing fee arrears for my three children and bought some new school uniforms for them.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My desire is to own my house because the current house I am living in is not spacious enough to accommodate me with my two co-wives which have forced me to spend the night in a kitchen while sleeping on the floor. When I receive the money I will use 40,000 Kenya shillings to build a two-roomed house which will accommodate my family and also it can regain my privacy and dignity which I have lost for long. I also intend to use 30,000 Kenya shilling to buy a bed and high-density mattress so that I can sleep comfortably. The remaining amount I will use it to pay school fees for my children when school resume.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I usually leave home very early in the morning going at our nearby centre searching for casual jobs such as washing utensils and Landry. During the day I spend more time doing my work but when it reaches evening I return home and spend time with family thus I find evening being my happiest part of the day.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My husband is polygamous and too old to sustain his large family. This forces me to struggle by searching for different casual jobs to enable me to provide for my six children. The income which I get per month is 3,000 Kenya shillings which are not enough to cater to my family's needs. Lack of resources is therefore the biggest hardship in my life.