chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Katisho's Profile
Katisho's family
Katisho
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labour
faceAge:
36
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Katisho's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($530 USD)
access_time 9 days ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Owning to the house is the biggest difference in my daily life. Previously I used to sleep outside other people's houses because my house was in critical condition. One could not believe there could be someone staying in such a house. This was really hectic, especially for my children. Whenever they wanted to study at night it was difficult for them since the house was not spacious. we are now happy and safer because we are sleeping under a permanent iron-roofed house which is also well plastered. My children can now study comfortably without any difficulties which are giving me more hope.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was around 4 am when I received a message notification from my phone. I quickly checked its content and realized it was from GiveDirectly. I was very happy and up to date, I feel like I am still dreaming.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
Since I was homeless, after receiving my first transfer I bought some building materials such as iron sheets, building poles, timber, and nails. Previously I used to sleep outside other people's houses with my children. My situation was really terrible. I then took a portion and paid some school fees for my children. Some had dropped out of school due to some fees arrears. I then bought some foodstuffs for my family because apart from being homeless we also starving.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My house is too small to accommodate my family of eight. This has forced some of my children to seek shelter in our neighbour's house. Besides, the walls are almost collapsing and the roof is leaking. The constant rattling sound of the loose iron sheets makes it difficult to sleep soundly. I am not happy with this life and my dream is to construct a bigger and better house. In addition to this I will purchase livestock for rearing that I will use during financial emergencies.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am taking supper with my children. This is because we spend most of our days without taking lunch. It is only in the evening when we are sure of getting food.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Financial instability is my biggest hardship. This is attributed to the fact I am a housewife and I depend solely on my husband. His charcoal burning job does not earn him enough to sustain us. This has resulted to food insecurity in my family. It is also difficult to raise school fees and my children are always sent back home.