chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > James's Profile
James's family
James
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
70
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on James's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 20 iron sheets at 15,000 KES, poles, nails and ropes cost me 11,000 KES and paid for labour at 7,000 KES to enlarge my house. I also bought dry maize at 500 KES. I am planning to pay school fees with the rest of the money.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have been able to enlarge my house which was squeezed and therefore gotten enough space for my family and our belongings. I have also changed the roof to new iron sheets so am no longer being rained on.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I used a portion of the transfer to built a pit latrine. I also till my land with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to enlarge my house because it is small in size. I'm also planning to cement the floor of my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to build a pit latrine since I don't have one. I would also like to extend my house by adding some more rooms that can accommodate my expanding family.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I was blessed with two wives who gave birth to twelve children and I have managed to educate all of them.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest challenge is owning enough farm produce that is enough to feed all my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I'm happiest in the morning when I wake up and I'm able to find food for my livestock.