GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Morine's Profile
Morine's family
Morine
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Morine's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I built a semi-permanent house of 30 iron sheets at a total cost of 33900 KES, I spent 9000 KES on a sofa set, 2100 KES on a goat and I spent the remaining 5000 KES on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
Initially, I lived in a rental house in the nearby center, where I had to pay rent, however, I no longer pay rent since I have my own house in courtesy of GD, a very big difference in my daily life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 10 iron sheets at 6,000KES, 20 wall poles 2,000KES, 5 kilograms of nails at 300KES, paid 900KES labor charge then bought one trough, 12 plastic cups and two sufurias at 500KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I want to build a new roofed house with cemented floor and walls, buy a wooden bed, a mattress and a sofa set then use the rest to buy some clothes for my children and myself.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use the transfer to build my own house because am currently staying in a rented house. I also plan to buy a bed, mattress and beddings because I am currently using rags as my beddings. I also plan to use part of it to buy clothes for my kids. I
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proud of is that I have managed through the help of God to bear children that makes me and my family happy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I have faced in my life is that of raising children as a widow. This hasn't been easy for me being that my husband died long ago and we didn't have any asset to support my family. At some point I had to become a beggar just for
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning especially when I manage to get a casual work that would help me get money for that day.