GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Theresa's Profile
Theresa's family
Theresa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
38
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Theresa's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l planning to build so l have put some building materials in place such as 15 iron-sheet at 630 kshs each, 30 poles at 5555 kshs , nails at 2500 kshs, sand at 4000 kshs, l spend 1000 kshs for transport, the remaining balance l still have it with you.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l am now relax because l know very soon l will have a spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 2,500 KES fees to my three children in primary school. Bought bedding and cooking utensils. I also used the remaining amount to settle my child's hospital bills.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build a new iron roofed house because my current house is leaking. I'm also planning to build a pit latrine. This will free my family from rushing to nearby bushes to answer call of nature.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to pay school fees for my children, enlarge my house, buy household items and build a toilet.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is being able to educate my children up to the level they are now. This is because I personally did not go to school and thus I am proud that I am providing them with what I did have.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have is lack of a steady source of income to enable sustain my family's basic needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning if I wake up healthy. This is because I know I can be able look for some work and earn some money to assist with my family's basic needs.