GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Zachary's Profile
Zachary's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Zachary's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid my daughter's 10,000 KES college fees. I settled 6,000 KES debt. I gave 15,000 KES to my wife to boost her cereal business. And finally I have a balance of 12,000 KES which I want to pay as school fees.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my life is that I used to have an anxiety over debts which caused me sleepless nights, but now I'm relaxed since the issue is already settled.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES for school fees, and spent 5,000KES on buying dry maize for consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I have 2 children in secondary school, I therefore plan to pay their school fees, and buy dry maize for our consumption.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to venture into sales of grains such as maize and pay school for my secondary school children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have a semi-permanent house. I never knew I could afford such a house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is lack of reliable source of income to educate my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning because I usually wake up feeling very strong.