GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Guoma's Profile
Guoma's family
Guoma
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
23
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Guoma's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought a steel door for 7,000 KES, seats for 20,000 KES, mattress for 4,000 KES, a cow for 12,000 KES and seedlings for 5,000 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have bought various seeds that I am certain will give a good harvest after the planting season.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
We spent my Token payment on purchase of solar lamp and battery for 6,000 KES, dry maize for 2,000 KES and school fee for 2,000 KES
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
We plan to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on buying a cow, sofa set and steel door.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are still planning together thus cannot definitely say what the final outcome will be.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement that I am proudest of is my house, this is because we saved quite a lot and had to deny ourselves a number of things in order to build the house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we have is lack of a steady source of income and our main source of income which is fishing has very little returns.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of the day is in the morning when I go to my kitchen garden and get some vegetables. These I sell at the market, thus I get money and I can then buy various items for my family.