chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Samwel's Profile
Samwel's family
Samwel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
House construction
faceAge:
52
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Samwel's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 30,000 KES school fees for my two children in secondary school. I invested 10,000 KES in table banking. I spent the remaining 8,000 KES on utensils and food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that my children are currently in school. I also have proper access to food while previously I toiled to put food on the table.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time 3 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
l spent the transfer on school items ( books , school uniforms).
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
l plan to pay school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my children, my land is not registered and I will buy a piece of land so that it can be registered in my name. I will also use part of the transfer in finding another wife so that she can take c
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to take my children to school and one of them has finished secondary school through my struggle.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that the work I do currently is of low income hence I am not able to meet all my needs on a daily basis as at times I do not have work to do making it hard to buy food and pay school fees for my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I get the masonry work in the morning I have hope that at the end of the day I will have money to buy food for my family.