GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Rukia's Profile
Rukia's family
Small business
Kenya Basic Income
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Rukia's next check-in.
5th Payment
Transfer Amount
3470 KES ($28 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
The cash transfers allowed me to finally pay for my son's circumcision after five years of struggling to source money for the procedure. I had struggled to save the required $10 for the operation considering that my plaiting job yielded very little, more so, rarely came by. Furthermore, my husband's earnings from his hawking hustle could barely cater to anything beyond food. Gladly, the cash transfer is possible and I could never be more grateful. Also, I used $15 to buy Christmas clothes for my two younger siblings. At that time, my parents' efforts to buy the attire had proved futile, and being their first child, it felt appropriate to support them and put a smile on my siblings' faces. The remaining amount went towards the purchase of food, that would serve my household until either my husband or I would raise more money through our casual jobs.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
3050 KES ($25 USD)
access_time 8 months ago
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
So far, GiveDirectly has improved the living conditions of many households in the village. Their equitable enrollment, which gave everyone a chance to participate in the village program, was an encouragement that lifted those who were on the verge of giving up in their lives. I am pleased that everything went as planned during the initial meetings and during the enrollment period.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Life has been easier for me since I began receiving transfers from GiveDirectly because I am assured of monthly support of $30. This amount has made a significant difference in my household by paying school fees, purchasing food, and consistently saving. With the recent transfer, I spent $10 on school fees for my son, who is currently enrolled in preschool. Previously, I would struggle a lot due to the hard casual labor whose payments would sometimes be delayed, causing my child to miss some classes. I am relieved that he is currently able to attend all classes and hope that his performance will improve by the end of the semester. I also spent the remaining $20 on the savings plans I had been developing - one with KCB Mpesa, where I saved $10, and another with an informal saving group of four women, each of whom channels $10 every month to one member beneficiary. When my turn comes, I hope that the money I have saved will help me get into a beauty college, where I will be able to open and run a cosmetic shop in the future.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1200 KES ($10 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received the transfer at 4 p.m. while I was selling half-cakes by the water stream in my village. I skipped with happiness because I had not sold anything to help raise money for the food that day. The money lifted a weight off my shoulders. At that moment, I felt the sun burns and dust I had experienced all day wear me off as a result of the excitement.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference the transfer brought to my life is helping to improve my husband and my businesses. Both of them were going through a tough time due to insufficient stock such that I started to worry we would stop operating. However, the transfer helped us get back on track after using it to procure additional items for the businesses. Unlike before when I used to earn nothing, I now make a profit of at least KES 200 per day.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
My husband and I both operate small businesses to fend for ourselves. He owns a small shop in Mombasa town while I bake and sell half-cakes in my village. However, by the time we received the transfer, the businesses were crushing due to insufficient stock to keep them going. So, I sent him KES 450 to boost his kiosk and used KES 200 to buy more things for mine. The remaining amount went towards the purchase of food for the family since the household had run out of foodstuffs.
access_time 1 year ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have two children whom I'm living with in the village, one is already attending a preschool while the other is still young. I do not have a source of income at the moment and only dependent on my husband's income from fruit business to be able to support my family. He lives in Mombasa where he operates his business while I live in the village with the children. Receiving this money will surely get me a source of income as I have planned to save up the money and later on use it as fees for beauty course. I want to learn hair dressing and temporary body tattoo that I know would start me up very fast due to high demand.
What is the happiest part of your day?
It hasn't been a very good year for me, but I enjoyed a lot the last Eid celebrations that happened two months ago. On that day, my husband and his brothers came together and decided to hold the celebrations right here in the village as a family. It was big and was attended by all relatives. Everyone was happy because we got to meet after a long time of being away for different reasons.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest challenge is lack of a source of income. It's been a lot of time struggling to get capital to start a business in the line of beauty products and also to join a beauty college to get skills as a make up a artist. We discussed this with my husband but he hasn't made enough yet to pay for me the asking amount. Until then I'm stuck to being dependent on him.