GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Edward's Profile
Edward's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Edward's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought cement at Kshs. 4000, I paid schools at Kshs. 3000. I bought one sack of maize at Kshs. 1800. The remaining Kshs. 1200 I gave my wife to do her own budget
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I have managed to build my house and even right I have managed to pay school fees. I am also able to buy enough foods for my household members.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 6,500KES school fees for my child who has repeated form 4 so that he can attain better grades and join the university. I also spent 4,000KES on buying 5 bags of cement for finishing my house.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to buy 3 metal window and 3 doors, cement, and pay for labour to build an iron roofed house. I also plan to buy a cow for milk to be reminding me of GiveDirectly.
access_time almost 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on paying school fees for my two children who are in college and secondary school. I will use part of the transfer to renovate my house which is not in a good state, I will open a shop for my wife so that she can sell food stuffs and to complete the construction of my kitchen so that it can have a roof which will enable my two girls to use it as their sleeping place.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is that I have been able to take my children to school and some of them are nearly completing college. This I did using money that I get from my fishing business.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is that my income from fishing is low at the moment and getting money to provide for basic needs of my children is not easy in terms of the food they eat,clothes and school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when I go to my farm to plough it in the morning,I have hope that when it rains I will have food to eat and this will reduce the burden of providing for my children and this makes me happy.