GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Jared's Profile
Jared's family
Casual labour
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time almost 7 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent part of my third transfer on starting a grocery business for my wife who was idle and also to get profits from the business which we can join with the ones I get from the odd jobs I do and sustain our family. I also bought sheep that I am currently rearing and might help me in the future. The other amount I spent on buying clothes for my family members as we did not have enough.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 7 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my third transfer to buy 2 oxen for 40000 KES and the remaining 10000 KES i spent to pay dowry for my wife
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest different in my life is capability to pay dowry for my wife
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 8 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought a mattress for 6,000 KES and started a business (selling tomatoes) with 3,000 KES and the rest was spent on buying food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend the transfer to pay bride price.
access_time 8 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend our transfer on dowry, and then spend the rest on sand and cement to plaster the walls of my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is building my own house with the money I saved over time working as a farm hand.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I have faced in my life is having to live without a regular source of income. This situation sometimes forces me to borrow money from friends and neighbours, and it's never easy to pay back.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I have found some work to do for pay.