GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Ronis's Profile
Ronis's family
Ronis
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
33
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($467 USD)
access_time 6 months ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My dream was to construct a decent house for my children, I am grateful that I was able to realise that dream in a short period, though if I happen to get some capital I would consider starting a new business that would enable me to earn a livelihood.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
The organization does an exemplary job in giving out the unconditional transfer without any form of discrimination, we were all educated, enrolled on the program at our own will, I am grateful for the support that transformed our lives.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I am a single mother of six children, I depend on casual jobs to earn a living, unfortunately, what I make was not enough to enable me to build a decent house for my family, this is because the house that I was living in was small, I, therefore, used my initial transfer in constructing a house, then used part of my second transfer in completing it, thus I used KES 10,000. In addition to that, I paid the fee arrears of KES 10,000 So that my children would comfortably concentrate on their studies without them being sent home to collect the fee, and thereafter I paid a debt of KES 10,000 and finally, I bought foodstuffs with the remaining amount.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($492 USD)
access_time 9 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt so happy when I got the money because I had so many things I had desired to do but neither had the ability nor support to address the challenges we had been facing as a family. This was because the only source of income is livestock keeping and I hardly raise enough money for food from the sale of surplus. I still remember very well that I was at home feeding my livestock when I heard my phone ring. I did not read the message at that moment since I was busy and decided to read it after I was done with what I was doing. My heart was filled with happiness after reading the Mpesa message and I finally knew that it was time to achieve my goals.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
Living in a small grass-thatched house and sleeping on the floor had been a challenge to me. Sadly, I could not afford to even buy a wooden bed let alone to build a more spacious house due to financial contracts as I am a single parent. I have lived a happier life of late since I get to sleep well in my newly acquired bed knowing that I will soon move into a more spacious iron-roofed house. Being able to achieve this is a big milestone that I am proud of and I am grateful to GiveDirectly for making it possible.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Building a more spacious iron-roofed house had been my desire and when I received my transfer, I spent KES 35000 to actualize this. I am glad that I will soon move out of our small and grass-thatched house that I am currently living in. Also, I spent KES 6000 to pay school fees for my children, KES 3000 to buy a bed, KES 1400 on two plastic chairs, and used the remaining KES 8600 on food items and clothes for my children.
 
Enrolled
access_time 11 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
For the last 12 years, I have worked as a casual laborer at Olerai farm, where I start my job of weeding from 7:30 am to 5:30.pm. Being a single mother of six I have had to endure harsh weather conditions such as extreme temperatures, rains and also walking for along distance of approximately 30 kilometers. With these transfers, I shall be able to buy a dairy cow of my worth KES 35000. My family will leave a new life because we shall have a continuous supply of milk. Hunger will be a tale in my family because the milk will be a nutritional source of food and the surplus will be sold to get another foodstuff such as cereal and household requirements.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The evening is the happiest part of my day because I get to relax and sleep peacefully after a tedious day of finding food and providing for my family.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
Being a single mother of six and a casual laborer am the breadwinner of my family. Whenever there is no job at Olerai my family has to stay hungry because I do not have anybody to look up to. My family slept hungry three days in January because lack of income.Lack of a permanent job is the biggest hardship in my life because the KES 300 I earn per day is all spent on food and therefore my future is always uncertain.