GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Joan's Profile
Joan's family
Subsistence farming
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Joan's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I gave 20,000 KES to my husband to start a bar business, bought a cow at 15,000 KES, utensils at 5,000 KES, paid 5,000 KES school fee for my brother in high school then used the rest on food and little house items.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I now have something that legally belong to me that I can reach at when I have a problem and I also have my own utensils so I no longer borrow.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying a blanket ksh 3500, sheep ksh 2000,goat 2000 and spent balance on meals.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy a cow and start poultry farming.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to pay school fees, buy beddings and clothing for the kids and household items that I lack. I also plan to buy cattle.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is the assets I have acquired so far. I have a ploughing machine and cattle for farming, hence I do large scale farming.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face is the burden of school fees. I live with orphans from the larger extended family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I go to the farm.