chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Josphat's Profile
Josphat's family
Josphat
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Construction (works for others)
faceAge:
26
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Josphat's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($364 USD)
access_time 25 days ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different from how it was before. I now can afford new clothes and put food on my table. This was not the case. I used to sleep on an empty stomach on some days and my clothes were know by many reason being I used to repeat clothes.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
I currently do not have any additional goals. Although, I am planning to expand my business and even have a kiosk where one can find all the groceries stocked.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent the most recent transfer to start up a grocery business. Initially, I used to idle and had no source of income. But when I received the transfer, I bought a hand cart and a stock of groceries. So my kiosk is portable and can move while selling. This has kept me busy and also I manage to earn an income on a daily basis.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($199 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
My goal is to create more opportunities for earning income for my family .
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference is that I am currently assembling building materials to put up a barber shop and an electronic shop. This will help me generate income. This means I will no longer have to work as a casual worker.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Upon receiving my recent transfer I bought poles, iron sheets, and nails. I am planning to put up a shelter for a barber shop and an electronic shop. This will help me generate income for my family. The remaining amount I bought clothes for my wife and child.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
The moment I received money from GD I was in disbelief. I was not sure whether GD was serious about sending the money. I knew that my life was going to improve.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
Reason why I prioritize my plan the way I did, is because it has always been my wish to start my own business and it looks like my dream has come true, therefore I will start investing in new business, which is barber shop business, second priority I will buy clothes for my child and for myself because is the only opportunity to look presented in community, third priority I will continue investing in my business, by boosting it, in terms of introducing other goods such as electronics that would support it in terms of paying rent.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is police violence because, police usually suspect any group of youth sitting together, hence if they found any youths in group, they will start bullying them by searching pockets so as to find something like bang, knife, i mean anything that can leads to a reason for arrest, this usually affect friendship within community, because of fear of being harassed hence many prefer walking alone or staying in doors.
What are your greatest ambitions?
Ever since, I wanted to be a hardworking businessman, where I will have multiple of stable businesses that will support me in my daily needs, many people don't likes to depends on others and that's me, meaning that I will be dependent man.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
During my free time I usually woke up at 7:00am where I will take a bath, brush my teeth, take breakfast, after I will go to our group to do usually activities which is garbage collection, that will take two hours of my time, afterwards I will join my friends in hall and watch football, 1:00pm I will take a break for my lunch,after lunch I will go back to hall to watch latest movies till 9:00pm, where I will go back home and have my supper then go to sleep.