chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Maurice's Profile
Maurice's family
Maurice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
42
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Maurice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 21,000 KES to buy a bull, paid up a debt of 24,000 KES and bought a water tank for 3,000 KES. The rest was spent on buying food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I bought some livestock with the first transfer and now plus the bull am now having goats that I can milk and the bull will help me in ploughing my farm.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 6,000 KES to buy two goats, bought pesticides for my tomato garden at 2,800 KES and the rest on food stuffs.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy cement and repair my house to strengthen the walls, buy two bulls and a hand-drawn plough to help me in farming.
 
Enrolled
access_time 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy two oxen and a ploughing machine, pay school fees for my children who are in primary school. Finally I will use the remaining funds to renovate my house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having managed to establish my own homestead and educated my children up to the level they have reached, I accomplished all these feats by saving every penny that I earned while working as a casual labourer.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money to be able to pay school fees for my children, this often results in them having fee arrears. Another hardship is lack of water, we often have to walk long distances just to get one jerrican of water and this is barely enough to cater for my family's needs.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning because I have been able to wake up and I can praise the Lord and ask him to bless me.