chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emmanuel's Profile
Emmanuel's family
Emmanuel
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
47
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($467 USD)
access_time over 3 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent my third transfer on bringing electricity to my home. I used to spend a lot of money on buying paraffin and taking my phone to the market for charging. I can now watch news in my home and also charge my phone at home. The money that I used to buy paraffin with I am now able to save. The remaining part of the money I used in my farm. I bought fertilizer which has increased my farm yields.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second cash transfer to purchase10 pieces of iron sheet worth10000KES,sofa set 15000KES,wiring fee for electricity 5000KES,school fees10000KES,business 9700KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have managed to buy some household items like a sofa set,I have managed to clear school fees for my child who is going to do the final exam next year and also bought building materials in preparation for the construction work.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 4 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 7,000 KES to pay school fees and the rest was spent on buying food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to enlarge my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to use part of the money to pay school fees for my daughter and use the other to extend my house finally use the remaining to buy 2 diary cows.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement am proudest of is building this house, I used to live in a small grass thatched house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship am facing is, paying school fees for my daughter in high school. I don't stable income to enable me pay school fees.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is when am working on my farm land.