chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Monica's Profile
Monica's family
Monica
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
22
homeHousehold Size:
5
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Monica's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 32,000KES on buying 2 cows; one for keeping and one for paying my dowry. I also bought a bed @8,000KES, a metal box @2,500KES, asack of maize @ 3,100KES and a pair of bedsheets @1000KES.I also paid 600KES school fees for my children.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am excited that in a few weeks I will be getting milk from my cow.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought three sheeps 6000 KES, a sack of maize 3000 KES, paid school fees 500 KES and bought food with the rest.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to buy a cow, repair my house and pay school fees.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 5 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to expand my house because it's small, plaster my house because I live in a flood prone area where mud built houses don't last, buy household furniture such as chairs and buy a bed so that I don't sleep on the floor anymore.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I assisted my spouse to build our house with money that I earned from sand harvesting.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I face in life is lack of a good source of income. This is because I work as a sand harvester, a very difficult job for a woman and so I often suffer chest pains. I wish I could get an easier job.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am resting after accomplishing my tasks for the day.