chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > John's Profile
John's family
John
landscapeCountry:
uganda
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
40
workCampaign
Standard Uganda
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on John's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
1730250 UGX ($457 USD)
access_time 4 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has changed because through this cash transfer, I managed to hire labour force on time and farmed on large scale.This season I am very hopeful of getting good yields. Previously, the yields were very poor because I farmed late and had small labour force . Secondly, my children can afford to dress well as opposed to when they wore torn clothes.
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I felt very excited because I was certain to buying an ox and household items like clothes for my children.
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I have spent my first transfer on buying an ox worth UGX 1,260,000, farm seedlings worth UGX 50,000, food worth UGX 100,000, clothes worth UGX 100,000 and paid labour worth UGX 150,000.
 
Enrolled
access_time 1 year ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means I will be able to build an iron roofed house, buy oxen that will support in farming, take care of the education needs of my children and provide food for the family. I believe this will make my home a better place.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I am happiest in the evening when I know my family has had a meal. I feel I have played my role as a father.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I am faced with is lack of money. There is a lot to be done and yet there is no money. I do casual labour so as to be able to provide for my family especially when it comes to feeding, education, medication and all othe needs.