GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Kadenge's Profile
Kadenge's family
Small business
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($441 USD)
access_time 3 months ago
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I have desired to get my piece of land and start my home. This is the goal I am struggling to achieve because having your piece of land earns you respect and separates you from family wrangles. Currently, I have a motorbike which I use to generate some money to help me achieve my goal.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
GiveDirectly has impacted the lives of my people in our area in different capacities depending on their needs. GiveDirectly enabled the children who had dropped out of school due to lack of school fees to resume studies, some constructed houses because they had none, and others started businesses to have an income-generating source to cater to their families' needs. Personally, the transfer helped me to get an income-generating activity which is a motorbike. This motorbike aids me to save some money to accomplish my goals. As of now, I have not seen or identified any short-coming from the organization.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Since I had a slam-like house, it was not worth a house but a structure to shelter myself at night, I opted to build a nice house which cost KES 20000.00 inclusive of the materials and labor. I did the construction so that I could have a nice secured place to house myself. I also opted to buy a motorbike as a form of starting a new business in the transport industry. I used the remaining KES 32000.00 and an extra KES 15000.00 that I borrowed from my mother to purchase the motorbike. This motorbike is serving me as a source of income. I am using it not only to transport people but also ferrying charcoals which I buy for sale.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($486 USD)
access_time 11 months ago
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
It was exactly 9 am, I was in my room sleeping after spending the whole night packing charcoal for sale since the buyer needed them early the following day. I was awake by a loud message alert on my phone. I decided to verify it and I could not believe the Mpesa message indicating that I had received my transfer. I was extremely happy and thank God for receiving my transfer which will change my life for the better.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my life is that I am living a happy life after purchasing a motorbike which helps me transport the charcoal to the market. Currently, my earnings have improved by 10 %, and I am able to meet the basic needs of my family of 5 more easily.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
Being a charcoal vendor, I had had a big challenge in transporting my product to the market. I spent KES 30,000 to purchase a second-hand motorbike which would help me boost my charcoal vending job by transporting them to the market on time. Previously, I was carrying them with a bicycle, cycling for more than 100km was a very tiresome activity for me. In addition, I used KES 20,000 to construct a decent shelter for my family of 5 members, this is because the temporary structure that we called our house was very small, leaking, and about to collapse. With the remaining amount, I invested into starting a goat rearing for my wife by purchasing 2 goats.
access_time 1 year ago
What does receiving this money mean to you?
I have dreamed of having a better house and beddings for 10 years now. After school, I was employed as a night watchman and I did this job for 5 years but the salary was not good enough to allow me fulfil my dream of having a better house. Me and my wife got separated because of the hard economic situations I was passing through in life . Living without food in my house and the house is very small to accomodate both of us plus 2 children we have. Receiving this money means I will go and take my wife back and build a good house and live with my family happly.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I got a piece of job last month of fetching water for my neighbors using my bicycle and I got some money. I visited my wife with presents only to find that my wife had got a baby boy. Getting some money from my piece of job and receiving a baby boy is what brought joy and happiness to me.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I have a chest problem and I cannot do charcoal burning business because its very straneous and I am not healthy enough to withstand such heavy job. I am living alone, my wife ran away because of the economic situations.