chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Phoebe's Profile
Phoebe's family
Phoebe
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
31
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($475 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the whole of my second transfer on buying a second hand motorcycle.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a new goal of starting a clothes business.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life different than it would have been if I never received the transfer because I have a daily income from my motorcycle business.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I used my whole first transfer to buy materials to build a new house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I used to live in my co-wife's house who passed on and had a lot of issues with family members but now i have a house of my own i can freely do what i want in it and am now at peace.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 2 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 4,000 KSH school fees, I bought blanket at 1,500 KSH and bought 1 bag of maize.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build the house.
 
Enrolled
access_time 3 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to educate my children. Secondly, I would like to built my own house.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The fact that I can raise my co-wife's children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
How to raise my own children plus those of my co-wife.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I the morning when am able to clear my business stock.