GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Sanita's Profile
Sanita's family
Sanita
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
Kenya Large Transfer
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Sanita's next check-in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($425 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I typically pack lunch for my five children and take it to their school. On the transfer day, I was running late, and the school was quite far. I hadn't taken my phone with me as it was charging at home. When I returned, I overheard my neighbours discussing receiving money from GiveDirectly. I went to my house and grabbed my phone to check if I had received anything. When I checked my messages, I confirmed that I had indeed received the money. I was filled with joy and immediately started preparing to withdraw it. I couldn't wait to buy myself a new bed and a mattress because the ones I had were old, worn out, and no longer provided a comfortable sleep.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
For years, I had been using an old and worn-out mattress that couldn't offer a comfortable sleep. Additionally, my five children were sleeping on the dusty ground because I couldn't afford to buy them new bedding. However, my whole family is now happy because, when I got my transfer, I purchased two mattresses and a new bed. I finally managed to change our bedding, and now I have a good place to sleep, as well as my children. Additionally, I managed to buy some salon equipment, and I am currently planning to start my own salon. I trained in hairdressing, but due to financial constraints, I was not able to start my own salon where I could apply my skills and earn an income. I am currently not employed; I am just a housewife, relying on my husband, who is employed in a hotel. I am planning to rent a room to start the salon business, which will keep me engaged and at least help my husband pay the bills and other financial needs.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
After completing my training as a hairdresser, I struggled to find a job in the field and had to resort to subsistence farming while taking care of my children at home. During this time, I depended on my husband as the primary breadwinner. My goal, however, has always been to save enough capital to open my own salon since finding employment was difficult. I'm thrilled that my dream is now within reach, thanks to the first transfer I received from GiveDirectly. I used $150 to purchase essential salon equipment, and I'm now preparing to rent a room in our trading centre to set up the salon. This venture not only provides me with self-employment but also promises to be a source of income, which will enable me to support my family alongside my husband. Additionally, I replaced our old and worn-out bedding by spending $250 on buying two mattresses and a bed for my children. Previously, my five children slept on worn-out mats on the dusty ground, but I'm pleased that they now have comfortable bedding to sleep on. I spent the remaining portion on purchasing food and paying school fees for all five children, ensuring that their education continues uninterrupted.
 
Enrolled
access_time 4 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
Having skills on hairdressing, I am confident enough to solely operate a salon business. This has been my desire for many years but due to financial instability, it has never come to fruition. With the hope I have on the cash grant from GiveDirectly, I am so optimistic about realizing my dream. I intend to spend $300 of my transfers to start this business at our nearby trading center. This will act as my reliable source of income to support my family of 7. On the other hand, I plan to start livestock keeping more so goats since they quickly multiply. To start with, I will spend $200 to buy 4 goats. The remaining amount will help me to sort other household needs such as repairing my house because it's walls are not in good condition and also to buy new beddings. What a new life to boost of!
What is the happiest part of your day?
In the month of December, 2023, I started a small poultry project to act as my investment that cost me $10. I started with 6 chickens and currently, four of them have chicks. This is a promising project to me and I am guaranteed of some income in case my husband fails to send me money. Therefore, I consider this project as my source of joy.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
At my age of 27 years, I never expected to be a housewife because I had a big dream of living a decent life. This is because, despite having hairdressing skills, I have remained jobless at home. I majorly depend on my husband who is a casual laborer and he usually sends me $15 on weekly basis. This money goes on settling bills leaving me with nothing to save. Hence, I consider financial instability as my biggest challenge.