chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Milka's Profile
Milka's family
Milka
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
36
homeHousehold Size:
6
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Milka's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I paid 15,000KES school fee for my daughter, bought one still door at 7,000KES, two still windows at 6,000KES, a cow at 15,000KES, then added some money to the remaining amount and bought 13 iron sheets at 8,060KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My child was almost quitting school due to fee problem but am now able to settle her fee arrears, so am now less stressed when it comes to matters fee.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on purchase of mattress, blanket and food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment as College fee for my child who just passed her 4th form. If there is a balance I will extend my house.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend my transfer on expanding my house and paying school fees for my children.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is being able to educate my first child through high school and now she is in college training to be a teacher.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing currently is on paying school fees for my children single handedly with no proper source of income.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of day is on afternoons when my children come back from school full of life and are able to find something to eat.