chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Sidi's Profile
Sidi's family
Sidi
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Small business
faceAge:
66
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
Upcoming Stage
Preparing Payments
attach_money
 
Follow to be updated on Sidi's next check-in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 2 days ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
My husband is 86 years and I am 66 years old. With our old age, we are no longer economically active to fully cater for our needs sufficiently. . I burn charcoal for a living. The amount I get from this job cannot last us for a month. In some cases, we ask for help from our children. I intend to use 15,000 KES to buy 5 goats. In a few years, the goats will be providing an income for us through selling them. Being less energetic, we shall use the rest of the money to buy food and cater for the rest of our needs as they arise.
What is the happiest part of your day?
I fell sick in July this year, it was a pneumonia related complication. With my old age and living in fear due to the COVID-19 pandemic, I was very much scared. I went to the hospital, I was put under medication and I got healed. From August, 2021up to date, I can normally do my daily activities.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
I am 66 years old and my husband is 86 years old. Due to lack of any steady source of income, I have to work as a charcoal burner for our survival. My husband cannot work anymore due to his old age. He depends on me to provide for him. Being less energetic, I only make 2,000 KES on a good month. This amount is never sufficient to cater for all our needs. This forces us to sometimes seek help from our children.