GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Damaris's Profile
Damaris's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Damaris's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought cement 10200 KES, nails 300 KES,sand 8000 KES, labor charge 11000 KES, steel door 7000 KES, two windows 7000 KES and spent the rest on food and clothes.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am currently living in a house with cemented floor unlike before when my floor was mud and dusty.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought two mattresses at 6,000 KES, I paid 1,000 KES school fees for my daughter and spent 2,400 on food.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build my house and start a business.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I plan to buy sand and cement since I want to plaster my house both from inside and outside inorder to prevent dust-born diseases.I'm asthmatic and I usually develop complications whenever I breath in dust.I will also boost my quarry business by purchasing the tools and lastly,I'm planning to spend the remaining portion on school fees.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is being able to take care of my children single handedly and being their mentor.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is how to raise school fees and how to feed my children because I cannot depend on my income alone since it's too little and I don't have an additional source of income that can boost me.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning while singing as I do my daily duties because it keeps my mind occupied.