GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emma's Profile
Emma's family
Emma
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
20
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48200 KES ($474 USD)
access_time almost 4 years ago
check
 
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent most of the third transfer to pay school for my children who are in secondary schools after a long strangle , l also spent the transfer to buy furniture being l did not have a proper furniture to sit. The remaining balance l spent on funeral expenses of my late sister in law.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($481 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my second transfer on purchasing food to sustain the family,paid hospital bills for my step child and spent most of the transfer on building my house and my co-wifes house as per the tradition.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the peace that I enjoy and the happiness in my heart because of the things that I have managed to achieve because of the transfer.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the first transfer on buying a bed 3700KES, a mattress 3800KES and 30 tins of maize 2500KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend the upcoming transfer on building a three roomed house and renovating my late co-wife's house so that my step children could have a comfortable shelter to stay in.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
We are planning to spend my transfer to buy household items, and also to buy at least a heifer and a bullock to start rearing livestock.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement I am proudest of is building our own house where we live with our children.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship I am facing is how to get food for the family on a daily basis. Sometimes we go without any food, and the little children find it very painful.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when all the family members are in the house and we are really just happy to be together.