chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Karisa's Profile
Karisa's family
Karisa
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Casual labor
faceAge:
46
workCampaign
Kenya Standard Remote
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
53150 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 4 days ago
check
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is different in multiple ways, I now own a decent shelter for my family. Also, I purchased a bicycle which has enhanced our transport especially in getting water from a long for my family. In addition through this transfer, I now own 10 goats they will multiply and assist me in the future. Lastly, I was able to purchase sufficient food for my family.
In your opinion, what does GiveDirectly do well, and what does it not do well?
My desire has been to purchase my piece of land so that I may be relieved from the threats that get from my neighbors. Poverty was my only deterrent, But I thank GiveDirectly for the transfer that has enabled me to meet my desire. I don't see anything that it does not do well since they fulfilled their promises of sending unconditional cash transfers.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent $ 380 of my transfer to purchase 6 acres of land. The portion of land where we have been living and farming for several years was not ours, it belongs to my neighbours who gave us persistent threats since they wanted their land back. The remaining amount assisted me to purchase 10 goats for rearing as my future investment for my family. I will be able to sell them to solve any emergency that may face in the future.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
55000 KES ($500 USD)
access_time 7 months ago
attach_money
 
Describe the moment when you received your money. How did you feel?
I received a message on my phone early that morning which was unusual. When I checked the contents, I was utterly dumbfounded for some minutes as I tried to understand it. I had finally received my first transfer from GiveDirectly! I felt happy and I celebrated with my family as I thanked GiveDirectly for the support.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
My life has just been full of financial struggles as I depend on charcoal burning as the only source of income. The little money from this is enough to cater for my household needs only. This forced me to live in a grass thatched hut for years.I never thought of upgrading to an iron roofed house until GiveDirectly visited and promised to change my life. Through their financial help, I purchased enough building materials to build a decent house. I will soon be living in an iron roofed house, which makes it to be the biggest difference in my daily life.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent a larger portion of my first transfer on buying building materials which include 24 pieces of iron sheets, poles and nails. I am building a new house for my family because the old one is in a bad state and more so grass thatched. In addition to this, I also paid the labour cost incurred in constructing the house. Apart from this, I also bought a nice bicycle to help me in selling and supplying charcoal. This is the only source of income I am currently depending on. I used to hire from friends to transport my charcoal but owning one means I will no longer incur any hiring cost. I also did a shopping on household items and bought some clothes for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time 8 months ago
 
What does receiving this money mean to you?
Receiving this money means building a house for my family. Our current house is made of grass and it is in bad shape. One of the walls completely collapsed while the rest are bent ready to fall. This is the place we have been sheltering for the past one year, yet it is not fit for human life. My small children suffer from the cold every night making flu a common illness for us. Besides, I will purchase oxen to scale up farming in order to achieve food security. Currently, I farm 3 acres of land but with these animals I will be farming 8 acres.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when it is cool. This is because I am able to work without wearing out so much. The sun tend to be very scorching during the day because of the dry nature of this region.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face in my life is financial instability. Charcoal burning being my source of livelihood, does not produce consistent income to enable me set a clear budget for our needs. We therefore live from hand to mouth. This situation has rendered us almost homeless since there is no surplus income to cater for extra needs other than food.