GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Loice's Profile
Loice's family
Loice
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
44
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Loice's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the first lumpsum in buying building materials (iron sheets and timber) at 26250 KES, bought furniture at 6500 KES, paid 8000 KES in school, bought a solar panel at 5000 KES and used the rest of the money on food.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I already have building materials which gives me hope of soon building a house for my son so he will soon have a place to sleep in.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 800 KES of my token payment on a blanket, 2300 KES on 10 cushions then cemented the bedroom of my main house using 4200 KES and bought food with the remaining 2700 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I would like to invest my upcoming lumpsum payment in cereal business and complete cementing my main house with the remaining amount.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to use my transfer to clear the fee balance that has delayed my son's dream of graduating with a bachelor's degree in statistics and invest in farming so as to increase my level of income.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have struggled to educate my son who is about to graduate with his first degree in statistics.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship is that I am the breadwinner to my family and my income isn't enough to feed and educate all my children.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning when I wake up by the mercies of God because there are many who die when they are a sleep.