GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Cathorine's Profile
Cathorine's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Cathorine's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent 19000 KES of the first lumpsum on buying livestock, built a kitchen using 17500 KES, bought a bag of maize at 3000 KES, used 3000 KES on school requirements, used 4500 KES on buying furniture and added some of my savings to the rest of the money and bought clothing at 6100 KES.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
My life has improved and I feel happy because I did not know I would own a cow but now I have.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 3500 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 2000 KES on a sack of maize, 2500 KES on a goat and the remaining 2000 KES on food for my household members.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
This is what I am planning to do with my upcoming lumpsum payment; I will build a new house, a kitchen and buy a heifer.
access_time almost 7 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy two cows, a bull and a dairy cow, then I will buy cement, sand, timber and nails to be used to build an external kitchen. The remaining funds will be used as capital for a small business.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I have always been getting good harvests from my farm and whenever I sell the produce I am usually able to buy a few chickens.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is that since my spouse died I have no sustainable source of income and this means my family usually lack a lot of essential items like food.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I count the money I got from selling sisal ropes, it makes me happy to know that my children will have a proper meal on that day.