GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Newsfeed > Grace's Profile
Grace's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Grace's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent my first transfer on buying fencing wire and polls.I also paid school fees for my children,bought utensils and maize.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have good utensils hence I don't borrow from others.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent my Token payment on purchase of 3 pairs of boots for 1,500 KES since we live in a swampy area ,2 mattresses for 5,000 KES, assorted food for 3,000 KES.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning to spend my upcoming lump sum payment on enlarging my house and upgrading it.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to plaster my house because we lack good soil here and so smearing is expensive and difficult. I also plan to invest in livestock farming so as to be able to use the income to educate my children in future.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that I am currently living in my own home. I have been living in my parents home for quite long and tradition requires that we move when we have become of age.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship we face in life is that we have no proper source of income and our children are about to get to secondary school. This is because my spouse is a teacher on contract who is paid very little and I survive on casual jobs which don't help much.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the afternoon when I have completed my work and is resting.