chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Isaac's Profile
Isaac's family
Isaac
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Street trading - food (self-employed)
faceAge:
27
workCampaign
FSD / Urban Youth
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Isaac's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
36800 KES ($367 USD)
access_time 2 months ago
attach_money
 
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is now different in that I now have my own space at the Marikiti market which enables me to make better profit. I used to share my space with someone at the market as I had not yet obtained my own permit from the City Council of Nairobi. This permit costs 9000 KES annually. I was able to obtain the permit from the transfers that I received from Give Directly. I no longer have to wake up very early in the morning to arrive at the market on time so that I can secure a space that I will be forced to share with someone, I now have my own legit space.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life?
My new goal is to collect vegetables directly from the farms that are mainly outside Nairobi county, and to deliver them in Nairobi at the Marikiti market. I will do this by hiring a lorry that can collect this vegetables in large amounts at a wholesale price, and deliver the products here in Nairobi county, where I will sell at a good price and make really good profit.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
I spent my most recent transfer to expand my business and to assist my mother also to boost her business. I run a green grocer business at the popular Marikiti market in the Central Business District since January, last year, 2018. I sell commodities such as maize, beans, potatoes, watermelon and cabbage; among other vegetables. Before beginning this business, I was involved in casual jobs and construction jobs in my neighborhood in Mathare. I used to make meager earnings from these engagements that would not always sustain my livelihood. I needed to make something out of my life and more so, to move out of my mother's house and depend on myself. It is because of these reasons that I decided to follow my mother's footsteps and start my own green grocer business in Marikiti market, just the way my mother has run her own green grocer shop in the market. I grew up with some knowledge and experience of this same business, which made it an easy ride for me as I begun my own venture. My business has picked up well since early last year and it has done even better and grown drastically after the support that I received from Give Directly.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
20000 KES ($195 USD)
access_time 5 months ago
attach_money
 
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I would like to expand my business by renting another stall and adding new items which I currently don't sell. I also wish to help my mother set up her own business so that she can also make her own money and take care of her own needs without having to depend on anyone for support.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The money helped me expand my business and pay for the business licence. This now means that I am more settled and do my business without having to look over my shoulders all the time for the city council officers which has resulted in more profits. I now have an easy time paying for my bills and providing for my family which was quite a task before.
What did you spend your most recent transfer(s) on?
The first thing I did with the money was to pay for my business licence which I had not paid for this year. This has always led to constant running battles between the city council officers and I which has negatively affected my business. I am a hawker in a local market in Nairobi, and here, we do everything possible to avoid paying for the permit because it very expensive. With the licence stress settled,I decided to expand my business by adding new items in my stall to increase my profits and it is actually paying off as I can say that my income has increased tremendously. I gave some of the money to my mother to help boost her own business,bought a few household items in my house then threw a party for my sister who just completed high school.
Describe the moment when you started receiving transfers. How did you feel?
After all, had been said and done, I still did not believe that GD would send us such an amount of money, I doubted this because of the past experiences I have had with other organizations that did not deliver. To be honest, I was shocked when I received the cash because I did not exepect it come.
 
Enrolled
access_time 7 months ago
 
What do you plan to do with the cash transfer?
My first priority is to invest in my business of selling maize at the Marikiti, which I co- own with my mother, I want to get city council permits so that it can finally be a legit business, I also will put some money into my poultry farming in my rural area and maybe buy more chicken. Secondly I want to go to for trainings on phone engineering so that I can open a phone and electric repair shop because I have the skills but no training yet. Lastly I would love to furnish my house for it to look presentable and feel like a home.
Describe your biggest worry.
My top concern is security because I always want to keep my mother safe so that she can be able to see me grow into the man she wants me to be, and also because she's ageing and her overall safety is important to me. My second concern is poverty and unemployment, when one has no job then they can not afford the daily basic needs and that's something to worry about. Thirdly am concerned about my health and also my mother's, I live in an area where water and sanitation is a crisis and water borne diseases like cholera are prone and I wouldn't want to have sanitation related health problems.
What are your greatest ambitions?
My ambition in life is to be a successful businessman and soon own my own lorries where I get to expand my business from just selling maize and poultry to also transporting goods and have my own land to cultivate these products, I want to be a great man to the society and more than anything help my mother for she has helped me grow into a hardworking man.
Describe your usual day. How do you spend your time?
I spend most of my time at work on my usual days, am a businessman and I get maize from Marikiti in Nairobi then sell and even distribute to other vendors, I share the business with my mum but we have separate areas of business. I mostly spend my free time playing football with my peers.