GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Onyango's Profile
Onyango's family
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
Follow to be updated on Onyango's next check-in.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I bought 27 iron sheets at 17,550 KES, 38 wall poles at 6,400 KES, 33 roofing poles at 4,950 KES, 20 kilograms of nails at 3,700 KES, one still door at 6,000 KES, paid 3,500 KES labour charge, 2,500 KES transportation fee, bought a lorry of clay soil at 3,000 KES, I then added some of my money to the rest of the cash and used 3,000 KES on food for the workers.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I no longer sleep in my brother's kitchen as before because I now have a house of my own.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent the transfer on buying mattress ksh 3500, bed ksh 3000, blanket ksh 1500 and gave my wife 1000 .
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am planning on spending it on building a new spacious house for me and my family.
access_time over 6 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy cedar poles, cement, timber, round poles, sand, iron roofing sheets and nails which I will use to build a house for myself and my family. I will also use part of the transfers to pay construction workers.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having worked at at a stone quarry crushing and breaking large pieces of stone into small chips and after some years of saving I was able to buy three goats.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of a proper house, I do not have enough money to build my family a house and now we are squatting at my brother's home, this situation is humiliating and dehumanising as I feel that I have let my family down.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the evening when I am through with all the day's work. I usually relax and enjoy a meal with my family, this is always the highlight of my day.