GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Emmily's Profile
Emmily's family
Emmily
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
33
homeHousehold Size:
8
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Emmily's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I extended my main house from 3 to 4 rooms at a total cost of 20000 KES, I spent 16000 KES on a heifer and the remaining 14000 KES on clothing and food for my household members. That is how I spent my first lumpsum transfer.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
I am now living in a more spacious house in courtesy of GD; Initially, I lived in a small house with little space to store my items and accommodate my family members, which could put most of my delicate items to a risk of being stolen, however this is no longer the case and I don't need to keep purchasing them since their security is assured the biggest difference in my life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I spent 3500 KES of my token payment on a mattress, 3500 KES on a bicycle, 1500 KES on food then I paid 1500 KES my hospial bills with the remaining amount.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I am living in a small house and I would like to extend it, buy a sofa set, a cow and windows for my main house with my upcoming lumpsum payment.
 
Enrolled
access_time almost 7 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to buy two dairy cows so that I can get milk which I can use at home and sell the surplus. I also plan to enlarge my house and this will involve buying building materials and paying workmen.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is having tilled my farm and it produced a bumper harvest which I later sold and bought four goats with the cash.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship that I face right now is lack of enough money for medical care, my health is not very good and I need constant medical attention. I fear that one day I might succumb to some illness.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is around midday when I am having lunch with my children. It makes me very happy to see them enjoying their meal.