<#% elsif current_page? controller: 'newsfeed' and not current_page? action: 'show' %>
chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Dickens's Profile
Dickens's family
Dickens
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
30
homeHousehold Size:
4
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Dickens's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($497 USD)
access_time over 5 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend the transfer to build house so l bought 20 iron-sheets at 16250 kshs , poles 10000 kshs, nails at 3000 kshs, labor at 3500 kshs, l also bought wire-mesh of 10000 kshs for fencing the remaining balance l spend to buy foodstuffs in the house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l had a very small house but now l have a very spacious house.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time almost 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought chairs at total cost of 4,500 KSH, I also bought food at a total cost of 3,000 KSH and the remaining amount is for our keep.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to build the house and do the fencing around my farm.
 
Enrolled
access_time 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to l would wish to build a new house because my house is in a bad condition. Secondly I would wish to use some of the transfer to fence my compound so that I better farming. Lastly l would like to use the rest of the money to continue with my education.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to build my own house.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening after doing casual jobs and getting some money to take home.