GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Follow 10

Newsfeed > Joel's Profile
Joel's family
Small business
homeHousehold Size:
Standard Kenya
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
3rd Payment
Transfer Amount
48250 KES ($476 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
What did you spend your third transfer on?
I spent the entire transfer to extend, repair and enlarge my house.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
I have a goal of having a water tank and building a pit latrine in my home.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
I am now living in a bigger and comfortable permanent house and now very poor like I used to be before receiving transfers.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($493 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your second transfer on?
I spent the whole of my first lumpsum transfer on building an iron roofed house.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
The biggest difference in my daily life is that I have a spacious house enough for all my visitors.
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($98 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I bought 7 pieces of iron sheets, purchased a mattress, and also bought some maize grains for family consumption.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I'm planning to spend a larger portion of the transfer on building a spacious iron roofed house. I'm also planning to by some furniture.
access_time almost 7 years ago
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build a new house since my house is very small to accommodate my family and visitors. Secondly l would wish to buy a water tank since we have water problem. Finally l would like to buy household items in my hous
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to educate my children upto high school.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is poor source of income to sustain my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the morning when grazing my cow.