chat
GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
to follow someone and stay updated on their journey with GiveDirectly.

Want to hear more updates from recipients? Click below to follow 10!

Newsfeed > Irene's Profile
Irene's family
Irene
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Subsistence farming
faceAge:
19
workCampaign
UBI
There will be no further updates from this completed recipient.
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($246 USD)
access_time 1 month ago
check
 
How is your life currently different from how it was four months ago?
I started poultry farming that is already earning me an income. I also empowered because I have assets in terms of the sheep and the cow that I own. I also got the ability to support my dad in roofing a house that he was constructing using a part of the transfers. These abilities and the income that I generate make me feel important and a useful member of the family.
Do you have any new or additional goals for your life for the next four months?
My additional income is to start a course at a technical college. I will be using proceeds from the farming ventures especially the poultry-keeping that is already earning me an income from selling eggs.
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life in the last four months preceding the current transfer.
The biggest difference in my daily life is the cow that I bought. Having this means that I have an asset. This will be a constant source of income from the time it starts producing milk. The heifer is approaching a calving stage that will then make me a dairy farmer.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
I expect to have started my course in my dream course. I will be growing towards a better life in the files of supply chain management and procurement. With the skills in hand, I will be getting ready for a employment that will be my best bet to a good life.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
25500 KES ($254 USD)
access_time over 1 year ago
attach_money
 
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life since you started receiving payments from GiveDirectly.
The biggest difference in my daily life since I started receiving the transfer is that currently am relaxed, I don't do more hard and less paying casual job like before. I easily get my daily family meals. I am now days independent and I feel empowered to do my own work and I can afford my basic needs. This has made my life easier and am so with. I am happy for the GD transfers.
How do you expect your life to change in the next six months?
In the next six months I expect my life to be better than today in that I have joined college and will have bought a cow.
How is your life different than it would have been if you never received the transfer?
My life is currently different from how it would have been if I had not received the transfers in that I am currently developing financially. With the cow, goat and hens that I have bought with the transfer, I see better financial status coming in for me. I see the as my capital. I am happier currently than before since I see more ability to do better thing in my future.
Do you have any new goals that you didn't have before receiving the transfer?
The new goal that I have is to buy a cow and to join my college.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 1 year ago
 
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
The biggest hardship i have faced in my life is lack of school fees to continue with my education. I completed my secondary School education in the year 2017 and scored a C+ but due to lack of school of school fees, it has become hard to realise my dream of going to college to study business management course.
What is the happiest part of your day?
The happiest part of my day is in the morning. Waking up healthy and seeing the rest of my family happy too gives me strength to carry on with my daily activities whole heartedly.
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I am planning to spend to spend my transfer on buying dairy cattle and goats
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
The achievement i am proudest of is having completed my secondary school education. The knowlegde i gained in school has helped me distinguish between good and bad thus my morals stands unquestioned.