GDLive Newsfeed
We check in with people at each stage of the cash transfer process to see how things are going. Take a look at some of their stories as they appear here in real-time. Learn more about how recipients opt in to share their stories.
Stages:
 
Enrollment
attach_money
 
Transfers
check
Completed
Newsfeed > Kenedy's Profile
Kenedy's family
Kenedy
landscapeCountry:
kenya
workOccupation:
Other
faceAge:
47
homeHousehold Size:
9
workCampaign
Standard Kenya
Upcoming Stage
Next Payment
check
 
Follow to be updated on Kenedy's next check-in.
 
2nd Payment
Transfer Amount
50000 KES ($496 USD)
access_time 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your second transfer on?
l spend 30000 kshs to buy business land, l also spend 15000 kshs to repair my boat the remaining balance l spend to buy foodstuffs .
Describe the biggest difference in your daily life.
l my boat is now factional so l can get my daily bread from it.
 
Initial Payment
Transfer Amount
10000 KES ($99 USD)
access_time over 6 years ago
attach_money
 
What did you spend your first transfer on?
I paid 5,000KES to the school to clear arrears for my children, and bought sheep @ 4,000 for keeping.
What are you planning to spend your upcoming transfer on?
I plan to extend my house to make it more spacious because I have 9 children and my house is small. I plan to repair my fishing boat because it's one of my sources of income. I also plan to buy oxen for ploughing so that I may increase food production for my family.
 
Enrolled
access_time over 6 years ago
 
What are you planning to spend your transfer on?
I would like to use part of the transfer to build a pit latrine for my family since l do not have any. Secondly l would wish to expand my house because my house is very small to accommodate my family. Finally l would like to use the rest of the money to buy cows to help me pay school fees in future.
What is the achievement you are proudest of?
My proudest achievement is that l have struggled to iron roofed house because I used to have a grass thatched house which was leaking.
What is the biggest hardship you've faced in your life?
My biggest hardship in life is lack of proper source of income to support my family.
What is the happiest part of your day?
My happiest part of the day is in the evening when I am able to get some money to buy food for my family.